World Petroleum Council Announces Finalists for 2021 WPC Excellence Awards

Winners of the triennial awards will be announced at the 23rd World Petroleum Congress in Houston.

Source: WPC

The World Petroleum Council (WPC) has selected 13 finalists for its 2021 WPC Excellence Awards from more than 130 nominated projects. The awards, which are presented triennially at the World Petroleum Congress, recognize outstanding projects and innovations in the oil and gas sector in two categories—social responsibility and technological development. Each category has two winners—one from a national oil company (NOC) or large business and the other to represent the work of small and medium-sized organizations.

The finalists in the social responsibility category are

  • Large companies and NOCs
    • Chevron for peace, prosperity, and partnerships in the Niger Delta
    • Chevron for partnering to eliminate malaria in Biolo Island
    • Exxon for building local capacity in Guyana
  • Small to medium-sized companies
    • Pertamina Refinery Unit III for Lighting Hopes: Electrifying rural communities from a micro-hydro power plant
    • Sakhalin Energy for Sakhalin: Indigenous island
    • Salym Petroleum Development for Good Neighbor

Finalists for the technological development award are

  • Large companies and NOCs
    • Halliburton Landmark for Permedia CO2 Toolkit to understand the flow dynamics of injected CO2 in the subsurface to derisk long-term carbon
    • Satbayev University for SmartTran Pro software for energy saving of paraffinic oil transportation through pipelines
    • Saudi Aramco for carbon capture, utilization, and storage enhanced oil recovery project
  • Small to medium-sized companies
    • Aramco Americas for Sensor Ball
    • Fishbones AS for multilateral well stimulation
    • Kayrros for geospatial monitoring for oil and climate stewardship
    • Weatherford for Vero Automated Connection Integrity

The awards will be announced at the 23rd World Petroleum Congress, which will take place 6–10 December, at the George R. Brown Convention Center in Houston. All finalist projects will be showcased during the congress.

Additionally, the WPC Excellence Awards for Youth will be presented to the best young authors of the congress, selected from the best abstracts submitted by young professionals younger than 35.

The WPC is a nonadvocacy, nonpolitical organization that was established in 1933 to provide a neutral platform for discussion of the issues facing the oil and gas industry and its stakeholders around the globe. It is dedicated to the application of scientific advances in the oil and gas industries, technology transfer, and the sustainable use of the world’s petroleum resources for the benefit of all. The WPC holds the World Petroleum Congress every 3 years in one of its member countries.

JPT is a media partner of the 2021 World Petroleum Congress.