HSE & Sustainability

IOGP Names Finalists for 2020 Outstanding Young Professional Award

Seven outstanding young professionals have been selected as finalists for the award, which will be presented at the SPE International Conference and Exhibition on Health, Safety, Environment, and Sustainability in Bogotá, Colombia.

The finalists for the IOGP Outstanding Young Professionals Award are, top row from left, Kelly Giang, Delina Lyon, Saul Moorhouse, and David Ochanda and, bottom row from left, Lauren Prigent, Stephanie Seewald, and Xeniya Yurkavets.

Seven outstanding young professionals have been shortlisted as finalists for the 2020 International Association of Oil and Gas Producers (IOGP) Outstanding Young Professional Award. The biennial award celebrates the achievements of an individual with fewer than 10 years of professional exploration and production experience. Nominations were submitted from senior leaders from more than 20 operators, with candidates representing of all seven of IOGP’s operating regions.

“This years’ submissions have been of an extremely high caliber,” Ed Walsingham, business and strategy manager at IOGP, said. “And our finalists have shown unrivalled commitment to excellence both inside and outside of the workplace.”

The Awards Committee, consisting of executives from the world’s leading upstream and contractor companies, has worked to categorize the nominees on the basis of their leadership, innovation, and impact.

“The upstream industry needs to do more to recognize the achievements of its younger workforce. Whether harnessing new technologies to tackle the industry’s greatest challenges or showing leadership by reaching out to those considering a future career in oil and gas, our candidates for the award are exemplary, and their companies and colleagues should be proud,” Walsingham said.

The 2020 finalists are

Kelly Giang, Subsea Engineer, BP

Delina Lyon, Ecotoxicologist, Shell

Saul Moorhouse, Technology Capability Lead, BP

David Ochanda, Biodiversity Coordinator, Total

Lauren Prigent, HSE Adviser, Neptune Energy

Stephanie Seewald, Drilling and Completions HSE Team Lead, Chevron

Xeniya Yurkavets, Lead HSE Specialist, KazMunayGas

Over the course of the next few months, the Awards Committee will judge the finalists on the basis of their achievements and a video submission. The 2020 award will be presented by IOGP Chair Fawaz Bitar at the Society of Petroleum Engineers International Conference and Exhibition on Health, Safety, Environment, and Sustainability on 17–19 March 2020 in Bogotá, Colombia, in parallel with the Latin American and Caribbean Petroleum Engineering Conference. The theme of the conference is “Generating Pride and Enabling Engagement,” and the conference is expected to attract international HSE leaders and professionals from across the sector.

Find more information here.