Matthew Balhoff photo

Matthew Balhoff

Professor UT-Austin

Matthew T. Balhoff is the department chair and a professor in the Hildebrand Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin. He holds the Lois and Richard Folger Leadership Chair in Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering and Bank of America Professorship in Petroleum Engineering. He also co-leads the Industrial Affiliate Program on Chemical Enhanced Oil Recovery.

Balhoff became an SPE Distinguished Member in 2017 and is a winner of the 2022 SPE Lester C. Uren Award, 2014 SPE International Young Member Service Award, and 2012 SPE International Teaching Fellow Award. He has 96 peer-reviewed publications and 39 conference papers in the areas of enhanced oil recovery, carbon storage, unconventional resource production, and fundamental processes of flow and transport through porous media.

He holds BS and PhD degrees in chemical engineering from Louisiana State University.