Mukul Sharma


Mukul Sharma, SPE, professor in the Hildebrand Department of Petroleum and Geosystems Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin (UT Austin) was elected to the National Academy of Engineering for 2018. He is recognized for his contributions to the science and technology of production from unconventional hydrocarbon reservoirs. Sharma has been on the UT Austin faculty for more than 30 years, serving as chair of the Hildebrand Department from 2001 to 2005. A Distinguished Member of SPE, Sharma has received several SPE accolades, including the John Franklin Carll Award in 2017, the Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal in 2009, and the SPE Faculty Distinguished Achievement Award in 2004. He holds a BTech in chemical engineering from Indian Institute of Science, Kanpur, India; and a MS in chemical engineering and PhD in petroleum engineering from University of Southern California.