SPE News

2023 SPE International Award Recipients Announced

Join us in congratulating the International Award recipients.

Star award yellow background
The awardees will be recognized during the 2023 Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in San Antonio in October.
Source: Getty Images.

SPE announces the members elected as this year's International Award recipients, who will be recognized during the Annual Awards Banquet at the 2023 Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition (ATCE) in San Antonio in October.

International Awards recognize individuals who make significant technical and professional contributions to the petroleum engineering profession and to the worldwide oil and gas industry.

The biographies of the awardees will be published in the October issue of JPT.

SPE/AIME Anthony F. Lucas Gold Medal for Technical Leadership

Russell Johns, Pennsylvania State University

SPE Cedric K. Ferguson Award

Md Aminul Islam, Equinor ASA

Feifei Zhang, Yangtze University

SPE Completions Optimization and Technology Award

Frank Chang, Aramco Americas

SPE Data Science and Engineering Analytics Award

Supriya Gupta, SLB

SPE/AIME DeGolyer Distinguished Service Medal

Saeed Al-Mubarak, Saudi Aramco

SPE Distinguished Achievement Award for Petroleum Engineering Faculty

Baojun Bai, Missouri University of Science & Tech

SPE Distinguished Member Award

Behnam Jafarpour, University of Southern California

Iskander Diyashev, Texas A&M University

Joseph Frantz Jr., Frantz & Associates

Jennifer Miskimins, Colorado School of Mines

Shauna Noonan, Occidental Petroleum Corp.

SPE Distinguished Service Award

I. Yucel Akkutlu, Texas A&M University (PE DEPT)

Eissa Al-Safran, Kuwait University

Junichi Sugiura, Sanvean Technologies

Ali Yousef, Saudi Aramco PE&D

SPE Drilling Engineering Award

Guodong David Zhan, Saudi Aramco PE&D

SPE/AIME Honorary Member Award

Birol Dindoruk, University of Houston

Curtis Hays Whitson, Whitson AS and Norwegian University of Science and Technology

SPE Formation Evaluation Award

Zoya Heidari, The University of Texas at Austin

SPE Giovanni Paccaloni Young Professional Service Award

Olawale Ajayi, NNPC E&P Limited (NEPL)

Gabrijel Grubac, Blade Energy Partners

Eelah Muzan, Shell Petroleum Development Company Nigeria (SPDC)

Baraa Hameed Salman, Petroleum Research & Development Centre Iraq

Vlada Streletskaya, Gubkin Russian State University of Oil & Gas

Adam Zalewski, Equinor ASA

SPE Health, Safety, and Environment Award

Kirsty Walker, SLB

SPE John Franklin Carll Award for Distinguished Professionals

Anil Ambastha, Chevron Technology Center

SPE Lester C. Uren Award for Technical Excellence

Tao Yang, Equinor ASA

SPE Management Award

Bader A. Al Munaifi, Kuwait Oil Company

SPE Production and Operations Award

Eduardo Pereyra, University of Tulsa

SPE Projects, Facilities, and Construction Award

Carolyn Koh, Colorado School of Mines

SPE Public Service Award

Rahul Patil, Halliburton

SPE Reservoir Description and Dynamics Award

Jack Jones, NSI Fracturing LLC

SPE/AIME Rossiter W. Raymond Memorial Award

Shimin Liu, Pennsylvania State University

Guijie Sang, University of Strathclyde

SPE Stephen A. Holditch Visionary Leadership Award

Khaled Al-Buraik, Saudi Aramco SAOO

SPE Sustainability and Stewardship in the Oil and Gas Industry Award

George Koperna Jr., Advanced Resources Intl Inc.